ASPI…

I have been at AP training for economics this week. I was unable to go last year, as it would have been a lot more helpful then.

Going into this last semester teaching AP economics for the first time, I was nervous. This week has been really validating because I feel like I have been doing a good job. There are other teachers here who taught it for the first time last semester as well and I can tell that I got it better than they did.

Doing professional development classes like this is good for me because it helps me empathize with my students, because it reminds me what it is like to be a student. If I am at something that I am interested in and I am having trouble focusing, I can only imagine what it is like for a 17 year old who is much less interested.

This also reminds me how lucky I am to be in the district and school I am at. I have heard some things from other teachers about the wacky things that go on in their districts and it makes my problems seem not as bad. At the same time, we all have many if the same problems, regardless of who are students are.

-J

Leave a Reply

